Nepal Scouts

The Nepal Scouts (Devnagari: नेपाल स्काउट) are the national Scouting and Guiding organization of Nepal. Scouting and Guiding was founded in Nepal in 1952 and became a member of the World Organization of the Scout Movement in 1969 and of the World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts in 1984. The organization serves 19,952 Scouts (as of 2011)[1] and 11,962 Guides (as of 2003).


Historic membership badge of the India branch of the Scout Association-note modern Nepal is included in the map upon which the fleur-de-lis is superimposed

As part of the 2007 Centenary, Nepal renamed Urkema Peak in the Himalayas to Baden-Powell Peak.


Program emphasis is on handicraftshikingcampingnature conservation and community development. Service activities include adult literacy campaigns, food production, child vaccination and drug abuseeducation. Relief operations are mobilized during earthquakesfloodslandslidesfires and other natural disasters.

Scout activities are organized jointly, but trainingcamping and other aspects of the program are separate for boys and girls.

Under the national education systemuniversity students on the masters level are required to serve in avillage for a year. These students are given an orientation, including Scout training.


  • Cubs/Brownie-ages 7 to 10
  • Boys/Girls Scouts-ages 11 to 15
  • Rovers/Ranger-ages 16 to 25

Scout Mottoes

  • Cubs: सक्दो कोशिस गर Sakdo Kosis Gara (Do Your Best)
  • Scouts: तयार होऊ Tayar Hou (Be Prepared)
  • Rovers: सेवा Sewa (Service)


The membership badge of the Nepal Scouts incorporates elements of the flag of Nepal, and both the trefoil representing the girls and thefleur-de-lis representing the boys. The highest rank is the Everest Scout.